• alt


Welcome to Computing

Computing  (formerly known as ICT), is taught to all students in KS3. It is then offered as a GCSE option in KS4. The department also offers all students the opportunity to take the ECDL ( European Computer Driving Licence) in IT Application Skills.


Students will undertake a variety of project-based assignments. As well as looking at more advanced features of Office-based software, students will also encounter a variety of more creative topics including video editing, sound editing, animation techniques and web page development. 

The students will learn about how to stay safe online and how to spot scams and threats when using ICT.

Students will be introduced to computer programming using the Scratch programming environment.


The course is centred around completing 60% controlled assessment and 40% examination taken at the end of the course.

Pupil will learn to apply practical ICT skills in a range of settings specified by an external examining body.

Assessment consists of a controlled assessment giving 60% of the overall mark and a terminal examination which counts for40%.

The single GCSE examination is taken in the June series of Summer examinations.

ECDL is the world’s number one IT qualification and in the UK is regulated by BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT. This course equips students with the skills to use a computer confidently and effectively, building on existing knowledge and motivating further learning. The ECDL in IT Application Skills is a direct equivalent of a GCSE course and is assessed through a series of online tests and students are graded either as Distinction*, Distinction, Merit or Pass. This equates in GCSE terms as follows:

  • Distinction* = GCSE grade A*
  • Distinction = GCSE grade A
  • Merit = GCSE grade B
  • Pass = GCSE grade C



Netherhall High School
Netherhall Avenue,

Tel: 01484 382140 
Email info@nlconline.org.uk

Named contact for queries: Joanne Ainley ainleyj@nlconline.org.uk

NLC's Complaints Policy can be found here.

About the NLC

NLC consists of four schools, covering a full range of ability from 3 - 19 years. Each school has its own distinctive ethos and identity but all share the common goal of catering to the specific needs of each student.